Print Page | Contact Us | Report Abuse | Sign In | Register
Board of Directors
Share |
Our 12 member board represents the very smallest water systems to the very largest water and wastewater utilities, as well as associate members.   Board members serve a 3-year term, which are staggered among the members.  Elections are held during the business meeting at our annual conference each December.  If you are interested in becoming a member of our board, please contact Chris Cossette.

Mike Broadbent
Mike is the Assistant Water and Sewer Superintendent for the Auburn Water and Sewerage Districts.
(207) 784-6469

Scott Abbotoni
Scott Abbotoni is the Water Division Manager at Great Salt Bay Sanitary District, where he oversees water treatment and distribution in the system. You never know where you will find Scott as he could be in the office, at the treatment plant or even with a shovel digging in a hole
(207) 563-5105

Jeff Day, President, NRWA Delegate
Before becoming the Superintendent of the Lincoln Water District, Jeff was a circuit rider for MRWA.  His first-hand knowledge of how the Association operates is invaluable to the Board.  Jeff was elected to our Board during the 2015.  He also represents our interests at National Rural Water Association meetings.  The Lincoln Water District has between 1001-2000 connections.
(207) 794-2921

Rodney Butler
Rodney comes to us from the Brewer Water Department.
(207) 989-4214


Michael Gaudette
Mike is the Superintendent of the North Berwick Water District.  He is our newest Board Member, being elected for the first time in 2017.  The North Berwick Water District has between 501-750 connections.
(207) 676-3707

John Guerin
John is the President of the Beaver Cove Sewer and Water Association, located on the shores of Moosehead Lake between Greenville and Lily Bay State Park.  This system has between 0-100 connections.  John was elected to our Board in 2016. 

(207) 294-2294

Jeff Kobrock, Secretary/Treasurer
Jeff is the former City Manager of Gardiner and is currently the Executive Director of the Midcoast Economic Development District.  He is President of the Gardiner Water District Board of Trustees and has been a Trustee and Officer there since 2003. His experience with business development helps guide the Association and builds long-term sustainability in the face of diminishing federal and state funding.  Jeff was re-elected to our board in 2017.
(207) 622-3701

Jim Leighton
Jim is the Superintendent of the Limestone Water and Sewer District.  As a joint utility from the County, Jim brings awareness of wastewater utility issues as well as the perspective of northern utilities to the Board.  He was elected to our Board in 2016.  Jim also has been working in the industry since 1988.  The Limestone Water and Sewer District has between 501-750 connections.
(207) 325-4788

Penny Lowe
Penny started as an office clerk for the Paris Utility District 34 years ago and is now the Utility Manager. She has been on the Board of Trustees for the Oxford Water District for 20 years, and was previously on the Maine Rural Water Association Board, took a short hiatus, and was re-elected to the Board in 2019.

(207) 947-4516 x 375

Kathy Moriarty, Vice-President
Kathy has worked at the Bangor Water District for the last 28 years and has held the position as General Manager since 2006. She has been a board member for Maine Rural Water Association since 2016 representing the larger utilities. Currently she is chair of the Maine Drinking Water Commission.  She offers valuable insight on managing a large water utility to the Board.  The Bangor Water District has over 5001 connections.
(207) 947-4516

Nick Rico
Nick is a professional engineer with degrees in chemical and civil engineering.  He worked as a consultant for 12 years, spent 2 years in construction management for the City of Portland, and worked for 15 years at Kennebunk Sewer District doing project management and operations.  He became Superintendent at Wells Sanitary District in 2015.  Nick was elected to our Board in 2019.
(207) 646-59096 

Jason Simcock
As the Vice-President of Government Serivice at Androscoggin Bank, Jason represents Associate Members' interests on our Board  He was also the Director of Planning and Development for the City of Gardiner.  Jason was elected to our Board in 2016.